Log in
  • Home
  • News
  • Turf Team Receives Recognition at GAM Awards

Turf Team Receives Recognition at GAM Awards

06 May 2022 9:58 AM | Anonymous

MSU Turf Team Recognized at GAM Awards Luncheon

It had been three years since the Golf Association of Michigan was able to hold an in person Annual Meeting.  This year's event was held on Wednesday at Eagle Eye Golf Club in Bath, Michigan.  Members of the Michigan Turfgrass Foundation and the Michigan State University Turf Team were in attendance as the association recognized the team's contribution to golf in the state of Michigan.

Dr. Kevin Frank presents the latest Turf Research projects ongoing at MSU and the Michigan Turfgrass Foundation's Tee Times 4 Turf auction.

MTF Executive Director, Carey Mitchelson, presents the latest Michigan Turfgrass Foundation initiatives, including the Joe Vargas Chair in Turfgrass Pathology.

Department of Plant, Soil and Microbial Sciences Professor and Chairperson, Dr. Brian Horgan, discusses the program and introduces members of the Turf Team.

Dr. David Smitley accepts MSU Turf Team recognition. 

Dr. Joe Vargas thanks the GAM for their impact on the game of golf in Michigan.

Auction closes at 7pm Sunday!

"If you keep inviting me, I will keep coming!"

MSU Professor Dr. Thom Nikolai, MSU Golfer James Piot, MTF Executive Director Carey Mitchelson

GAM Awards

Mia Melendez - 15 & Under Girls Player of the Year
Max VanderMolen - 15 & Under Boys Player of the Year
Sophie Stevens - Girls Player of the Year
PJ Maybank - Boys Player of the Year
Terry Delcamp - Senior Women's Player of the Year
Rick Herpich - Super Senior Player of the Year
Jerry Gunthorpe - Senior Player of the Year
Kimberly Dinh - Women's Player of the Year 
James Piot - Men's Player of the Year 

Ron Dahlin, The Meadows at GVSU - GAM Superintendent of Merit Award
Phil Holmblade - Course Rater of the Year
Erik Haneberg - James D. Standish Jr. Award - U of M
Christian Jackson - James D. Standish Jr. Award - MSU
LPGA USGA Girls Golf - MWGA - Champion of DE&I Award
Glenn Pulice, Royal Oak Golf Center - Club Services Award
Lee Juett, GAM President Emeritus - GAM Distinguished Service Award

Michigan Turfgrass Foundation is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. P.O. Box 27156, Lansing, MI 48909

The Michigan Turfgrass Foundation exists to promote safe, healthy turf surfaces for all Michigan residents.

Call or E mail Us

Office: +1 517 392 5003

E Mail miturfgrass@gmail.com


PO BOX 27156


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software