Log in

Kenyon T. Payne Outstanding Student Award 

Congratulations to Zachary Olowniuk

2024 Kenyon T. Payne Outstanding Student Awardee

Kenyon T. Payne was Chairperson of the Department of Crop Science until 1969 when he took over the Two Year Ag. Tech Program for Golf Turfgrass Management. While there he worked with Professor Beard to get the program on solid ground. Approximately 800 students have graduated under Dr. Payne's leadership. He was an avid supporter of excellent golf turf and did work on breeding Red Fescue resistance to Leaf Spot disease. Dr. Payne also served as treasurer of the Michigan Turfgrass Foundation for a number of years and was very well known in the University and in the industry nationwide. In his honor, what was the Outstanding Student Award, was renamed the Kenyon T. Payne Outstanding Student Award. 

  1. Number of Awards Annually: One
  2. Amount of Award: $2,500.00
  3. Basis for Award: Grade Point Average of 3.0 or higher
  4. Minimum 42 credits completed
  5. In second year of Program
  6. Scholarship, leadership, character and estimated potential for future 
  7. Program Eligibility: Student in two-year Turfgrass Management Program
  8. When Awarded: At annual award ceremony
  9. Electronic Scholarship Application below:
Electronic Scholarship Application

Kenyon T. Payne Outstanding Student Award Recipient History

1968 Scott Sincerbeau
1969 Thomas Gauthier
1970 J.L. Mike Donahue
1971 M. Joseph Yoder
1972 Michael Hemquist
1973 Donald Ratcliff
1974 Thomas Mason Jr.
1975 James Wile
1976 Carl Jacobs
1977 Bruce Williams
1978 Les Rutan
1979 Patrick Klein
1980 Patrick Berger
1981 Brad Emerick

1982 Dan Garson
1983 Frank Dinelli

1984 David Schwall

1985 Kenneth Zack
1986 Niall Fraser
1987 Jeffrey Dorrell
1988 Douglas Palm
1989 Bob Warner
1990 Dave Faucher
1991 Steve Southard
1992 Gary Krokker
1993 Michael Powers
1994 Robert Marshall
1995 Mark Wallace 

1996 Michael Lyons
1997 Charles Goode
1998 Dennis Cook

1999 Troy Rice
2000 Joel Comstock
2001 Kevin Kuehne
2002 Mick Ide

2003 Charlie Romines
2004 Brian Roberts
2005 Trever Thorp
2006 Daniel Koops
2007 Eric David
Dominic Cercone 
2009 Ryan Gage

2010 Wes Keister

2011 Justin Doran
2012 Blaine Burch
2013 Eva Sanchez-Cespedes
2014 Trent Limban
 Gerald Navarre
2016 Evan Stoddard
2017 Tim LeBlanc
2018 Reid Rahoi
2019 Thomas J. Quisenberry
2020 Alex Scott

2021 Colin King

2022 David Parker

2023 Connor McBride
2024 Zachary Olowniuk

Michigan Turfgrass Foundation is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. P.O. Box 27156, Lansing, MI 48909

The Michigan Turfgrass Foundation exists to promote safe, healthy turf surfaces for all Michigan residents.

Call or E mail Us

Office: +1 517 392 5003

E Mail miturfgrass@gmail.com


PO BOX 27156


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software