Log in

 Sports and Commercial Turf Scholarship 


Congratulations to Tristin Ziola

2024 Sports and Commercial Turf Scholarship Awardee

In 1987, MSU and the MTF recognized the importance of the lawn care industry in Michigan and the benefits of increasing its number of well-educated turf managers. To this end, Mr. Walter Wilkie, owner of the Toro Distributor in Pontiac and the Bare Foot Lawn franchises in Michigan, funded the startup of the Lawn Care Management Program in MSU's Institute of Agricultural Technology. A similar need by the sports turf industry was recognized in 1992 when its name was changed to the Lawn Care/Athletic Turf Program and then again in 1997 when it became the Sports and Commercial Turf Management Program. Recognized nationally as the only one of its kind, the program continues to graduate outstanding students, many of whom have gone on to become well known and successful leaders in their respective industries. 

  1. Number of Awards Annually: One
  2. Amount of Award: $2,500.00
  3. Basis for Award: Grade Point Average of 3.0 or higher
  4. Minimum 42 credits completed
  5. In second year of Program
  6. Scholarship, leadership, character and estimated potential for future 
  7. Program Eligibility: Student in 2-Year Sports and Commercial Turf Program
  8. When Awarded: At Annual Award ceremony
  9. Electronic Scholarship Application available at the bottom of this page

This award is administered by the Turfgrass Management Program and approved by the Michigan Turfgrass Foundation and MTF Scholarship Committee

Electronic Scholarship Application

Sports and Commercial Turf Award Recipient Award History 

1990 Marc Stine
1991 Matt Kawa
1992 N/A
1993 Gerald Lavender
1994 Steve Martinko
1995 Robert Carson
1996 Todd Rowley
1997 David Datema
1998 Jeff Bodziak

1999 Jeff Bodziak

2000 Michael V. Tremper
 Charles Eastman
2002 Gregory Elliott
2003 Loyd Bowman
2004 Tim Hackett
2005 Derek Curtis
2006 Mark Picucci 
2007 Jason DeMink 

2008 Russell Bray
2009 Brian McDougal
2011 Daniel Jennings 
2012 Nick Wolcott
2013 Nicholas Binder
2014 Josh Allenman
2015 Ian Bumpus
2016 N/A
2017 Kirk Thomas

2018 Adam Vecitis
2019 Not Awarded
2020 Not Awarded

2021 Keith Koch

2022  Not Awared

2023  David Berger
2024 Tristin Ziola

Michigan Turfgrass Foundation is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. P.O. Box 27156, Lansing, MI 48909

The Michigan Turfgrass Foundation exists to promote safe, healthy turf surfaces for all Michigan residents.

Call or E mail Us

Office: +1 517 392 5003

E Mail miturfgrass@gmail.com


PO BOX 27156


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software