Log in

The Robert Hancock Memorial Scholarship Award 


Congratulations to Anthony Williams

2024 Robert Hancock Memorial Scholarship Awardee

Robert Hancock, from Jackson , Michigan , was owner and President of Hancock Industries. He was an avid golfer and served on the Greens Committee at Jackson Country Club. In the late 60's, he became involved in golf turf programs and realized the need for research money in this field. At his death in the late 70's, a portion of his estate was reserved for the financing of the proposed turfgrass Research Center at MSU. In 1979 the construction began and in 1981 the Robert Hancock Turfgrass Research Center was opened. The HTRC is a first class research and education facility used not only by students and faculty but by the industry as well. 

  1. Number of Awards Annually: One
  2. Amount of Award: $2,500.00
  3. Basis for Award: Grade Point Average of 3.0 or higher
  4. Must be in last (senior) year of program
  5. Scholarship, leadership, character and estimated potential in the turfgrass industry
  6. Program Eligibility: Undergraduate in 4 year Turfgrass Management Program
  7. When Awarded: At annual award ceremony
  8. Electronic Scholarship Application below:
Electronic Scholarship Application

Robert Hancock Award Recipient History

1985 Edward Hock
1986 N/A
1987 Edward Hock Jr.
1988 John Seefeldt
1989 Garrett Walworth
1990 Michael Fisher
1991 Darin Lickfeldt
1992 Robert Golembiewski
1993 Robert Traver
1994 Dean Mowrey 

1995 John Sorochan
1996 Jay Eccleton
1997 Matthew Burrows
1998 Donald Roth
1999 Mike Bergelin
2000 Damon D. Soderberg
2001 Colin Seaburg

2002 Nathan Radwick
2003 N/A
2004 Patrick Reinhardt

2005 Joseph Lesinski
2006 Jeffrey Miller
2007 Troy Looney
2008 Kevin Doyle
2009 Micheal Kromarik
2010 Brian McDougal
2011 Clinton Steketee
2012 Tyler Manly
2013 Rodney Crouse
2014 Paul Jacobs

2015 Brett Vander Heide
2016 Michael Konnings
2017 Derek Sawle
2018 Tom Robbins
2019 Nicholas Worley
2020 Jerod Pell IV

2021 N/A

2022 Payton Perkinson

2023 Logan Coomplo
2024 Anthony Williams

Michigan Turfgrass Foundation is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. P.O. Box 27156, Lansing, MI 48909

The Michigan Turfgrass Foundation exists to promote safe, healthy turf surfaces for all Michigan residents.

Call or E mail Us

Office: +1 517 392 5003

E Mail miturfgrass@gmail.com


PO BOX 27156


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software